12 inch or larger touch screen, chart and built in gps plotter

Discussion in 'Precision Marine Center- Discount Electronics' started by 05bill, Jun 11, 2018 at 5:18 AM.

  1. 05bill

    05bill Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Posts:
    494
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    cape cod
    Boat Make:
    rp, willis beal
    Maybe its me, but the more I look the more I get confused. Does some one produce and sell a reasonably priced touch screen chart plotter with built in gps , 12 inches or bigger, don't need radar, depth, and whatever else ?

    Prices are crazy, and the nomenclature just simply confuses me.

    Thanks,

    Bill
     
  2. Genius

    Genius Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Posts:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    571
    Occupation:
    Moorings,Oil Field Trash,Pilot Boat Driver
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Boat Make:
    32' Jarvis Newman 32' Morse Cove
    How about an iPad with Nav software. I use it occasionally and really like Navionics.

    D
     
  3. fortier256

    fortier256 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    478
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Narragansett Bay
    Boat Make:
    Fortier 26
    Plus 1 on the IPad. Can run Navionics or Nobletec. / Vector or raster charts. The only downside is it is not waterproof.
     
  4. WoundUpMarine

    WoundUpMarine Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Posts:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Occupation:
    1st Engineer, Seadrill Americas
    Location:
    Boothbay, Maine
    Boat Make:
    34 Libby, 14 Holland
    I have a 12" Simrad plotter and my small 9" Ipad. Hands down I use the Ipad 99% of the time, the Simrad is my back-up. The user interface and the speed of the Ipad with the Navionics as bad ass.

    I've been thinking about trying out the Nobeltec app just because I prefer the raster charts, but no complaints about Navionics at all.
     
  5. 05bill

    05bill Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Posts:
    494
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    cape cod
    Boat Make:
    rp, willis beal
    You guys are great, that is what I am looking at a, Tablet ! Unfortunately the marine chart plotter manufacturers have not taken this opportunity.

    I have a protected area and the resolution on the tablets are good enough , and yes I have the Navionics on the phone it works great.

    Probably an I Pad 10 inch.

    Bill
     
    WoundUpMarine likes this.
  6. WoundUpMarine

    WoundUpMarine Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Posts:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Occupation:
    1st Engineer, Seadrill Americas
    Location:
    Boothbay, Maine
    Boat Make:
    34 Libby, 14 Holland
    Best part about the Ipad is you can take it home and plot a course or mess around with destinations while you're sitting on the couch drinking a beer!
     
  7. Genius

    Genius Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Posts:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    571
    Occupation:
    Moorings,Oil Field Trash,Pilot Boat Driver
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Boat Make:
    32' Jarvis Newman 32' Morse Cove
    picture with the mount.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. fortier256

    fortier256 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    478
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Narragansett Bay
    Boat Make:
    Fortier 26
    I have a Sitex Auto Pilot that my Garmin pushes the usual waypoint info to via the normal nmea0183 hard wired connection from the Garmin to the Auto Pilot The Garmin (16 years old) s**t the bed. My Nobletec Time Zero on the IPad will push waypoint info wirelessly (I believe). Any thoughts on connecting the Sitex and IPad with a Multiplexer?
    I think that I will also post this in the electronics section.
     
  9. WoundUpMarine

    WoundUpMarine Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Posts:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Occupation:
    1st Engineer, Seadrill Americas
    Location:
    Boothbay, Maine
    Boat Make:
    34 Libby, 14 Holland
    Fortier, how seemless is the Nobletec app as far as navigating and moving around the chart. I know the Navionics is super fast and the refresh rate is awesome, is the Nobletec about the same?
     
  10. fortier256

    fortier256 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    478
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Narragansett Bay
    Boat Make:
    Fortier 26
    I use Nobletec on the IPad and Navionics on the IPhone. Speed is great on both. I would say about the same as I never noticed a speed issue on either? Moving around the chart is pretty much seamless. Love the Nobletec and raster charts. Just old fashioned I guess.
     
    Genius likes this.
  11. WoundUpMarine

    WoundUpMarine Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Posts:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Occupation:
    1st Engineer, Seadrill Americas
    Location:
    Boothbay, Maine
    Boat Make:
    34 Libby, 14 Holland
    That's exactly what I wanted to hear, I love the raster charts too. I'll download the Nobletec when I get home and give it a shot!
     
  12. fortier256

    fortier256 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    478
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Narragansett Bay
    Boat Make:
    Fortier 26
    I think that you will be happy with Nobletec. I am ready to push the button to order a new Garmin but with the IPad and Nobletec I am just not sure why.
     
  13. fortier256

    fortier256 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    478
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Narragansett Bay
    Boat Make:
    Fortier 26
    What’s better than that? Pretty hard to beat.
     
  14. captjohn

    captjohn Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Posts:
    493
    Likes Received:
    135
    Occupation:
    Retired field engineer, aircraft
    Location:
    Seaford, NY
    Boat Make:
    Henriques
    Just about every display comes with a built in GPS. Most come with other built in features as well, suck as RADAR and depth sounder. It's really a case of the display has the ability to interface with other equipment, and the display can simply display the data. If you don't hook up the transducer, the depth function doesn't function, same holds true with a radome. It's really not that complicated.
     
  15. duxbait

    duxbait Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Posts:
    646
    Likes Received:
    163
    Occupation:
    Fisherman
    Location:
    Duxbury MA
    Can you have the navionics app on the iPad show your tracks?
     

Share This Page