Fuel Issue

Discussion in 'Downeast Boat NEWBIES' started by YankeeClipper, Jul 6, 2018.

1. YankeeClipper

YankeeClipper Member

Boat Make:
    32' Osmond Beal
    So I'm a rookie, but reading alot, and trying to learn.

Cummins 6BTA, 400 hours, recon 2007.

You guys helped me out when I posted 2 weeks ago about OVERHEATing.

Since overheating a lot has been done. Hired a Cummins/boat mechanic. Raw water system serviced: flushed, barnacle buster, strainers checked, impellar changed, coolant changed, hoses changed. Alarm working fine. Tach checked, propped close to ok; engine rated at 3000 rpm, turning 3060.

Here's my new dilemma.

Running at 2100 RPM, and engine stalled. Two 120 gallon fuel tanks, each half full at start of trip; by dipstick. Fuel filter had been changed. Somehow air got into the fuel lines. I primed the lines and was able to restart engine. ran fine for a while, but then stalled again. Reprimed, fine.

Checked fuel tanks; starboard tank almost full, port tank 1/8 full. Shut port tank valves off, and ran fine into dock.

Help.

2. OLD BAY

OLD BAY Captain

Boat Make:
    Wasque 32
    Sorry to hear about your fuel troubles.

Were you running on both tanks, or that port tank? Sounds like you were pulling air from that port tank and that 1/8th of a tank may be your level for unusable fuel.

Others with more knowledge will chime in.

3. Fishonnelsons

Fishonnelsons Captain

Charter boat Captain
    Home Page:
    Boat Make:
    38 Wesmac
    Issues with your lines. Need to know how your lines are set up. Probably you have a supply line from each tank going to one valve to one supply line to the engine, and one return line from engine going to a valve and then a return line to each tank.