Oyster Dredge

Discussion in 'Commercial Fishermen's Forum' started by El Mar, Feb 29, 2012.

1. El Mar

El Mar Captain

So, some of you know I'm a shop teacher.

One of my projects this year has been building an oyster dredge with a few of my kids for a Marine Science and Technology class that I teach.

We work closely with our local shellfish comission, some of you may have seen the 20' Scow we built. The last 2 seasons we have been dredging a little on local oyster beds to see what comes up with an old dredge someone gave us. We rebuilt it but also copied it to make another one.

I am at the point where I need to buy some netting and chain male or chain netting for the bottom? Where can I get this stuff and what is the correct terminology. I'm a total novice at this and doing it more for the experience of the kids. Any pointers greatly appreciated.

Some pics....

The old dredge.

Attached Files:

BillD likes this.
  2. El Mar

El Mar Captain

The new dredge in need of parts. Please let me know if you guys with experiece see something wrong. Going to be towed behind our scow.

The "claws" on the bottom will definitely be made shorter.

Attached Files:

3. Tunascapes

Tunascapes Senior Member

I don't have much info that you are looking for but it seems that programs you are involved in really are great. Real life hands on projects always seem to get People involved. I'm sure the kids love it.

4. El Mar

El Mar Captain

Some do some don't. :D:D

Some pics of it in use.

Attached Files:

5. steveinak

steveinak Captain

You can get the rings(scallop rings) and open links(scallop links) to connect them from one of the supply houses in New Bedford in fact i'd bet if you gave them the measurements of the chain mat they could make it up for you and even attach the twine top to it. The reason i'm saying to have it made up is the link closer is a expensive tool to buy for such a small job. Maybe check with Wilcox they are a bit closer to you.

Wilcox Marine Supply Inc