2004 Sabre 42 Hardtop Express

Discussion in 'Downeast Boat NEWBIES' started by Sabre and Sound, Aug 15, 2019.

1. Sabre and Sound

Sabre and Sound New Member

Boat Make:
    Looking for my first vessel
    Hi All,

Newbie here and mostly a sailor so far in my boating career. I live in an area great for cruising but not great for wind. I am considering moving to a Sabre 42 Hardtop express. Would be great to get some thoughts on the boat! I am new to Sabres (and power boating) and don't have a ton of boating experience overall. Seems like the SAbre 42 is a great reliable boat. Looking at Yanmar or Cummins motors.

Please share your thoughts and help me think through the right things to check/ask in purchasing one of these boats. I am in love with them so far based on everything I am reading!

Last edited: Aug 16, 2019
  2. Tuna Pursuit

Tuna Pursuit Captain

Self Employeed
    Home Page:
    Boat Make:
    Thunnus
    Great production boat but not really a DE. I have a twin diesel boat and am looking to get into a single diesel DE. The sabre is a full planning hull a DE is a semi displacement, big difference

3. chortle

chortle Captain

retired
    Boat Make:
    Herreshoff Coquina, 1972 Jarvis Newman 36, PT11
    They are great boats, excellent build quality and the noise and vibration levels will be very low compared to most boats. This forum is more focused on classic downeast boats with a single engine and a keel hung rudder but there are a few converts that may chime in. You can get some good insight into a specific boat by contacting Sabres customer service group, have a hull id number handy. They test and publish dB levels in their literature. Good luck with you purchase.

4. Toolate

Toolate Captain

Building contractor
    Boat Make:
    1998 36' Sabre Express CAT 3116TA's, 2015 ROS Scotia 16 Etec 50
    Glen Chaplin is the guy to contact at Sabre- gchaplin@sabreyachts.com