2011 Yanmar 6LPA-STP 315 with 1100 Hrs

Kailua Kid

Captain
Website
www.gibbonslawgroup.com
Boat Make
General Marine 26; Klamath 19; Sparkman & Stephens Yankee 38 sloop
Hello fellow boaters. I have been boating for about 65 years. I am considering a Atlas Acadia with a 2011 Yanmar 6LPA-STP 315 with 1100 hrs. I am not familiar with Yanmar and would like your advice on this engine.
Yanmar makes some very reliable engines. Some of the members on this forum will weigh in with specifics, but meanwhile I believe it is accurate to say that the 6LP is a higher reving engine than some other diesels in that class, with a shorter stroke to keep piston speed / travel down (counterintuitively). If maintained properly, including oil and filter changes at Yanmar-recommended intervals, valve lash adjustment at recommended intervals, timing belt and tensioner also at recommended intervals, etc., and if propped correctly so that the engine can turn up under load to it’s rated speed, it is likely to last several thousand hours.

I have a predecessor engine in my General Marine 26, a 2000 Yanmar 6LP DTE (250 hp) that I run 22 nautical miles five days a week at around 3200- 3300 RPM. I have been doing that run for about two years without a hiccup. Fuel efficiency is pretty good, possibly a little better than what Yanmar publishes. I think (but do not know for sure) that the 250 and the 315 share the same block, crank, pistons, etc., but that the 315 has a twin-cam setup with four valves per cylinder, providing more power and better fuel efficiency than the single cam, two valves per cylinder head on the old 250. If I ever repower, I will be looking at doing so with a 315. I understand the block was used in the diesel Toyota Landcruisers for many years and proved itself quite robust.

Hope this helps and that I am not too far off the mark. I trust others will provide more useful and accurate information, which also can be found on boatdiesel.com.

Genius

Admiral
First Name
David