steelguy

Lieutenant
Boat Make
1980 Sisu 30'

VISIT THE BELOW LINK FOR PROGRESS PHOTOS

steelguy49's Library | Photobucket

BOAT LOCATION and LOGISTICS
Wrangell, Alaska
Svendsen Boat Works - one of Southeast Alaska's premier master aluminum boat builders

I should start by mentioning that my boat partner Don does large project asphalt paving and heavy machine construction and my background is that of an architect and custom home builder. I also build cabinets. Don and I have a combined 75 years and we both are not shy about working before playing. And, one other thing that might be unique to the equation, although our boat is in Wrangell, Alaska, we both live in New Jersey and get no more than 10 days or so each year to go "play". That sucks, but it is what it is. Good thing is the other 50 weeks of the year we get to dream and plan.

THE BEGINNING
It all started 4-1/2 years ago when my boat partner and I decided we needed to make a move up to a larger boat, one that we could comfortably navigate between southeast Alaska islands, sleep and eat on and basically use as a base for our stream fishing. Our previous boat was a 21' North River jet boat, which prooved on numerous times to be way too tight and, because of our overloading it, dangerous even in the more secluded waters we sailed. We found our new boat for sale through a broker in Juneau and managed, after a very thorough survey which confirmed a good, solid potential investment, to purchase both the boat and a tri-axle 40' trailer. It had been previously owned by a fishing lodge and was used second inline for close water sport fishing for guests.