Best Diesel fuel additive ?

TwoRivers

Deckhand
Boat Make
BHM Flyepointe 32' 1989
I have just discovered some water/trash/gunk in my Racor fuel filters. What is the best cleaner/additive to treat the fuel that is available locally at auto stores/walmart etc. ? I am new to DE boats and diesel engines so thanks for the replys. My tanks are 93 gallons each .
Randy

CumminsEngine 018.jpg

Duke

Captain
Lite User
Boat Make
Dyer 29

WC1966

1st Mate
Boat Make
Webbers Cove 34
I have had luck w/this

14120_aaa_18547-L_manual_oil_change_pump.jpg

NAPA has a version of this, I have a pick up at the forward end of the tanks and am able to hold the hose on the bottom, and it worked, be sure to hold the hose!!:rolleyes:

Blitzen

Admiral
Boat Make
Flowers Boat Works 46 hull #1, Flowers Boat Works 36 hull #1, Wayne Beal 28 Hull #1, Repco 30 1968,
How quickly did that amount of water accumulate in the filter?

nausetwidgeon

Deckhand
Fuel Cleaning

I had a similar issue with about the fuel in my tanks. I disconnected the out bound side of my racor attached a second filter (just a home heating oil style filter I added in for extra filtration). Purchase a small pump and just circulate from one tank to the other since now you are double filtering the fuel which is pretty much what the companies who advertise fuel polishing do. Pump does not have to be explosion proof since this is diesel not gas. I also pulled my sending units when the tanks were empty and cleaned the inside of the tanks with.

TwoRivers

Deckhand
Boat Make
BHM Flyepointe 32' 1989
"cleaned the inside of the tanks with"
Cleaned the inside of tanks with WHAT ? The water accumulated over a period of 8 months, as I am a new bie I just now realized to check the fuel filters. I will do MUCH better in the future !
Thanks

Duke

Captain
Lite User
Boat Make
Dyer 29

captainlarry84

Admiral
Boat Make
KristenFormer Charter Captain