Best marine computer for maxsea? Fans?

Holmes

Lieutenant
Boat Make
40' Webbers Cove
Anyone here have any experience with marine pcs? I am looking to pick one up to run Maxsea which i understand requires a significant graphics card. Not sure on what make to go with.

Also fanless compared to fan- which do I want and why?

thanks for any input

Badlatitude

Rear Admiral
You can get relatively good graphics cards these days for pennies on the dollar compared to years ago. Hell a lot of big box stores these days are coming with 8 gigs of ram and a gig of video

Toro

Commander
Boat Make
19 Pointer
...The detail to sort out is the dimness to which the screen will darken to, and the brightness for broad daylight. Big box Store sourced not likely to do either very well but I'm no computer expert. Dimness is even more important of course..

Badlatitude

Rear Admiral
The brightness settings would be software based. We never had to use any monitor or internal computer settings for windplot. Although there certainly are adjustments to be had in the monitors controls.

One thing to consider is the placement and angles of your monitors in the first place. Also if going custom built a solid state hard drive and a dc power supply wouldn't be terrible additions.

Last edited:

kmac

Commander
A solid state hard drive is a must on a boat. It is much faster and immune to vibration that will kill a conventional hard drive.

osprey47

Commander
First Name
Joe
Boat Make
BHM 36 w/ Yanmar 6LYA-STE
A couple of thoughts:
Do you really need MaxSea. It is a very complex navigation package, very expensive and has lots of added cost modules. I have used Fugawi for years and has all the necessary bells and whistles.