Bullraking Quahogs

duxbait

Captain
Anyone else on here commercially bullrake quahogs? I'm new to it... just wondering if anyone else does it on this site.

Pedlyr

Captain
Did it in a previous life......I don't think things have changed much. Hard to do for longer than 6 hrs at a time, especially in the winter.

duxbait

Captain
Ya i am a full time student and am just doing it to get some extra money. Not many guys around here bullrake (Duxbury/Plymouth). I have a 14'' aluminum pipe with an adjustable t-handle on it. What set ups have you seen used to combine lengths of pipe together? I would like to add more pipe to have a handle up to 20-22' to adjust with the tide. With our big 10' tides the 14' handle is only good for a few hours.

Pedlyr

Captain
I think I used to use (2 ) 15' telescoping sections, about 1 1/4". If you get too long, then you have to go to a dry or plugged pole. Tide isn't as bad here. I had a " mud " rake which has longer teeth. An old washing machine roller helps mounted on the rail.

Pot hauler use is now legal in RI, so many can now use the power assist and dig in deeper water.

There might be a couple of welders down in Falmouth who fabricate gear. I know there are a few diggers left in the Waquoit area.

Super Suck

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
Lasco 5' fiberglass
Ron Ribbs company in Harwich that his wife has been running since he died years ago! I had 2 bump rakes from the mid '90's, they worked too good. Most Cape towns banned its use.

Super Suck

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
Lasco 5' fiberglass
The company has grown a lot since then!R.A. Ribb Company: Ribb Rakes - Clam Rakes
http://www.ribbrakes.com/images/com/jerk1.jpg