Define downeast

eyschulman

Commander
Boat Make
Devlin 48 & Marshal Sanderling
What really difines a downeast type boat? Where it's made? Hull form? The look?

Badlatitude

Rear Admiral
Its a design and style of boat. I don't think it matters if its built in Maine or on Mars.

Badlatitude

Rear Admiral
mars isn't downeast, maine is but you may be right.

My theory being that a builder is a builder. His address is not important. If all the best builders in the Maine decided they didn't want to deal with winter anymore and moved to North Carolina to build their boats... They wouldn't be carolina boats would they? :confused:

MouseTrap

Rear Admiral
Boat Make
Rosborough
I'm no expert, and would differ to the boat builders on this forum every day of the week... But IMHO, I don't believe it matters where the boat is constructed. However, the design or concept of a Downeast boat should have originally been conceived in "Downeast Maine".

Traditionally a downeast hull will have a single engine inboard, semi-displacement, and have a fine entry and a round chine. A full length keel with transition to a relatively flat aft section of the hull is a strong characteristic.

Variations of this theme can be "skeg built" versus "built down", and soft versus hard chine. A hard chine boat will tend to plane more readily, and be faster, and would probably be less forgiving in a following sea, and less "rolley" (sp?) on a drift or beam sea.

Skeg built boats may tend to be faster, with their very flat run aft. Built downs are often better heavy weather boats and can generally carry more weight. It’s also easier to get an engine under the floor, alleviating the need for an engine box.