Dry Exhaust

jwalka51

Captain
Boat Make
26' Webber Cove lobster boat.
I going to be re-powering my 26' webber cove lobster boat. Right now I have a gas 350 that is all the way down forward with wet exhaust. I am going to be installing a john deere 4045, and I am going to move it back some to gain cabin space. I plan on having a 30-36" long engine box in the cockpit. I want to go with a dry exhaust so I can get rid of the raw water system " I am also going to keel coolers". Anyway, the turndown coming off the back of the turbo on that motor is on the port side. I would like to run the exhaust pipe straight down into the bilge, aft a foot or so, then break over to the port side of the boat and come up through the deck just aft of my wheelhouse.

At this point in time I would like to state that I am a licensed pipefitter welder with a union book in my pocket, and while I travel the country fixing power plants and oil refineries, i do this type of welded stainless piping all the time. I also own a welding and fabricating co in newport RI. So please no technical advise on how to put the pipe together, because that will just piss me off, lol.

My dilema is that I have been told by some experts " RA Mitchell CO" in New Bedford mass" that I cannot do this because It will start a fire bellow deck. I believe that is bs. I have insulated pipes at work that hold some very high temp stuff, to the point that you could rest your for arm on the pipe and not be burned. Furthermore, I could swear that I have seen other boats with this same type of configuration. This guy at Mitchells is telling me to go straight through the box and then out the roof. Having the engine box is bad enough, nevermind a big ass pipe going through is. I believe that he is just telling me this for liability purpose.

Advice would be great, and pics would be even better. thanks guys.

F/V First Team

Admiral
Website
www.otisenterprisesmarine.com
Boat Make
Northern Bay 36 - Modified