Eastern 31 Casco Bay

tshug

Ensign
Hi my names Ted and am new to this site. I'm looking for some viewpoints on a 2001 Eastern 31 Casco Bay powered with a Cummins 6BTA 5.9 with 1400 hours on it that I'm interested in. Has anyone here owned a similar Eastern and had any major problems with their Cummins? It will be used mostly for cruising, weekends on the hook and some fishing. I currently own a 1998 Seawirl Striper with a 225 Honda ob, so I have no diesel experience yet, but have always wanted to get into a DE style for their solid reputation and stability.

Eastporter

Admiral
Boat Make
Sold- 20' Eastporter (Rebuilt 2011) 22' Pearson Ensign
Do a search for "JC 31" as it is a very similar boat. The keel may have been altered by Eastern, and the pilothouse may be taller however. Lots of past discussion on the ride of the JC 31.

tshug

Ensign
Do a search for "JC 31" as it is a very similar boat. The keel may have been altered by Eastern, and the pilothouse may be taller however. Lots of past discussion on the ride of the JC 31.
Thanks I'll check out the JC's as well.

captainlarry84

Rear Admiral
Boat Make
KristenFormer Charter Captain
2001 Eastern was a good year. They built them a little lower like the original JCs. Find one without a F/B. Cummin5.9 @ 330 HP works well. Not happy about al. fuel tanks they last about 20 years and it is a very big replacement job. I would value a 2001 Eastern in mint condition @ 72K.

I think this JC is the current posted pick of the litter. She has great lines & power & set up the way I would set one up. His asking price is 79K which is a reasonable asking price:

http://downeastboatforum.com/free-classifieds-downeast-boats-marine-equipment-fishing-tackle-sale-wanted/2001-jc-31-%2479000-7786.html

Last edited:

tshug

Ensign