Engine Oil

Northern bay

Lieutenant Commander
Just curious guys what are you using for diesel engine oil in your boats?

Caterpillar tells me to only use their DEO (of course) for warranty purposes, but I'm getting tired of paying the upcharge. Does anyone know whose oil they use?

I've run Rotella for years when I had a pair of Macks and I'm thinking about going back to it. Or possibly it's already in my engine...LOL

Blitzen

Admiral
Boat Make
Flowers Boat Works 46 hull #1, Flowers Boat Works 36 hull #1, Wayne Beal 28 Hull #1, Repco 30 1968,
I am fairly confident that Cat DEO is Mobil Delvac 15W-40. I have been using it for a few years now.

bluefin650

Commander
I am using Volvo VDS 3 in my KAMD 42.

I will be running a cummins QSC 8.3 this year and was wondering what other people were running in theirs. I haven't seen what the Manual requires yet.

Beamie

Commander
All the Government owned ships I have worked on have a contract with Shell. Some of these ships have Cats. So the warranty issue is BS.

petrel

Rear Admiral
Boat Make
56' DMR, 31' BHM
NAPA 40 weight in 671 TI's

Pedlyr

Captain
If I remember correctly, CAT 3126B's require a single viscosity oil for warranty purposes. That is where the "DEO" comes in.

8943post

Commander
Boat Make
33 Duffy
Bobistheoilguy.com has all the answers to any possible question about lubricants.

Rotella T 15/40 for diesels and Rotella T5 semi-synthetic for equipment we use in the winter.

Last edited:

Blitzen

Admiral
Boat Make
Flowers Boat Works 46 hull #1, Flowers Boat Works 36 hull #1, Wayne Beal 28 Hull #1, Repco 30 1968,
If I remember correctly, CAT 3126B's require a single viscosity oil for warranty purposes. That is where the "DEO" comes in.

This was for the 3116 and 3126 SAE 30 or 40 only as the additives in the multi-grade was clogging the aftercoolers and turbos.

tunafishhkg

Captain
Boat Make
35 Duffy