Exhaust insulation needed.

jwalka51

Captain
Boat Make
26' Webber Cove lobster boat.
Hello guys. I am in need of some insulation for the new riser I made. Posted in My thread Absolutly Exhausted. I am looking for the cheap way out. I would like something like a soft mineral wool that I can put on myself and then just wrap with fiberglass tape to keep it there and protect it. Doesnt need to be pretty, just efficient and fire proof.

I would also entertain a fabricated blanket/ wrap, but I know that they are expensive. I am a pipefitter by trade and work with insulators all the time so I know how much work goes into making it look good.

Any leads will be appreciated.

Brooksie

Rear Admiral
Boat Make
Bruno-Stillman 35
I have used the regular exhaust wrap with good results but an "air gap" helps a lot. Expanded metal or hardware cloth or something to hold the wrap off the metal. Then you are not dealing with conduction so much as radiation.

Last edited:

sams

Lieutenant
Your riser does a very good job of taking advantage of a tight space, but that means it doesn't have much space around it. Use an appropriate temp mat or ceramic fiber and don't get into a situation where you have a fire.

Sam

jwalka51

Captain
Boat Make
I was thinking of using 1" mineral wool wrapped with fiberglass tape and wire to hold it all together.

Do you guys make exhaust blankets???? Could you PM me a rough estimate for a custom wrap

sams

Lieutenant
1" mineral is probably not going to give you the type of protection ou need. I do not remember the upper temp limit for MW, but you will be riding the upper edge.

I'll see what I have for small quantities of materials in the morning.

Sam

GLA

Commander
I use kaowool here at the shop to insulate and slowly cool very hot things