Fixer Uppers

Estimator

Commander
Boat Make
43 Torres
As my search continues I wanted some opinions on an idea.

I came across a possible boat but here is the deal:

Boat has brand new power and generator but it is in "commercial condition" I would figure on refinshing the outer hull, new non skid, dressing up the cockpit and doing the wheel house over.
The boat over all is the layout I want, size I want and with a little love could be my next rig.

Am I crazy to get invloved in this?
I am a general contractor so doing any kind of woodwork or cabinetry would be easy. I would have to look to have any glass work and other finish work done. Boat is 1999 40' H&H

Any idea what the costs could run for the above work.

I am not looking for a yacht finish, just a clean down east that I can fish and looks good.

Thanks
Anthony

Blitzen

Admiral
Boat Make
Flowers Boat Works 46 hull #1, Flowers Boat Works 36 hull #1, Wayne Beal 28 Hull #1, Repco 30 1968,
Anthony,
The door is wide open and the sky is the limit on your question. You could be looking at 50 to 100 grand to fix it up depending on how much you want to do. I would look at it like this, if you can buy it and use it the way that it is, then you can then pick your projects as time and money is available and not try and do it all at once. But if you just want a painted plywood interior and a roller coat of nonskid than forget what I said.
With my own boat I still can't get over how much foam costs for cushions and bunks and that didn't include the labor to have it all made. There are so many little details that all add up that don't seem like much up front.
Good luck with your search.

Helen L

Commander