floscan

coddock

Commander
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Posts
264
Likes
33
Thinking of putting a floscan in my 28' D/E to get a better handle on fuel usage.Does anybody have first hand experience with them? Installation,etc. Are there other companies making similar? I was looking at the one that does GPH only;priced around $800.00. Would it be recommended to get the "fancy one" that does it all;GPH,MPG,etc.etc.
 

jerseysportfisher

Rear Admiral
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Posts
1,181
Likes
149
Location
Communist part of NJ
Boat Make
Bertram 33SF
They are worth their weight, i had a northstar one on my last boat. the sender had to be perfectly level. Once that was done, you have to calibrate it. Once calibrated it was an invaluable tool, you learn when something not right with the boat by watching burn rate. You can find the sweet spot as to where it starts burning more due to load.
 

Nighthawk

Lieutenant Commander
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Posts
121
Likes
21
Location
Portsmouth, RI
Boat Make
Carolina Classic
I really like the Floscan brand, they are great people to deal with, easy install and very, very accurate. The fanciest model I would go with is the series 7500/7600 Floscan Instrument Co. Inc. what is nice about that model is it is a direct replacement for your current tachometer so you aren't drilling more holes and adding another gauge somewhere. You also pick up the digital tach feature and resettable totalizer (like a trip odometer only measuring gallons). Make sure you shop the price once you have the correct model for your application, many retailers sell them $200 or so less than the prices on the Floscan site.
 

starrfish

Commander
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Posts
259
Likes
109
Location
nantucket ma
Boat Make
35 duffy
those things are MINT..if you have a place to mount just the GPH model, thats all you really need..if not, like already mentioned, you can replace your tach (same hole) and it will do both. the install is fairly straight forward with a little pre planning.. there support is also great. had one for a 3208 for 6 years, all of a sudden it had an issue, sent it back, and for a small fee is was good as new.. now i have one for my 3126, and its accurate to about 8 gallons in 325 burned/used..
no sending units to break, and you will find how your boat performs in different conditions (burn rate)
 

CEShawn

Vice Admiral
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Posts
3,326
Likes
1,224
Location
Cape Cod, MA
Boat Make
Downeastless
Its almost a no brainer with the price of fuel right now. I have had them dating back to our twin outboards all the way through my second to last single diesel. I have installed a series of them myself and have had no problem with them. Just make sure you follow their directions and it can take up some room with the little equalizing devices they have, but not sure that all units have them. I just know my last set i had to get them for an install on an Mack E9.

I know one thing is that I used to push the boat a little more to get back in early. We'll when you watch the needle go up and multiple that by $4/gal you tend to correct yourself. I always had the simplistic model, maybe the 5500 I believe.
 

coddock

Commander
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Posts
264
Likes
33
I really like the Floscan brand, they are great people to deal with, easy install and very, very accurate. The fanciest model I would go with is the series 7500/7600 Floscan Instrument Co. Inc. what is nice about that model is it is a direct replacement for your current tachometer so you aren't drilling more holes and adding another gauge somewhere. You also pick up the digital tach feature and resettable totalizer (like a trip odometer only measuring gallons). Make sure you shop the price once you have the correct model for your application, many retailers sell them $200 or so less than the prices on the Floscan site.

Any suggestions on where to start shopping? Also,I am assuming the "simplest unit",the one that does only GPH installs on the supply and return lines only;Seems quick and simple.How does the one that "does it all"install?I would assume it needs some form of sending unit.That would be a real PIA in my boat!
 

captainlarry84

Rear Admiral
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Posts
1,295
Likes
239
Location
Freeport NY
Boat Make
KristenFormer Charter Captain
I had a Floscan on my CAT & currently on my Yanmar repower. It is a very helpful unit. It can pick up things like poor fuel flow, clogging filters & of course the best fuel burn. The greatest feature is the total gallons used. With a twin tank boat and no fuel gauge, which never work anyway it allows you to max out each tank if needed. Last trip 73 gallons burned as per the Flocan & 73 gallons at the pump.
Once calibrated they are very accurate. It does require a little time to do this.
There customer service is a ten.
A little tricky to install. The unit requires seven wires. I purchased a color coded 8 line jacketed cable which made the install nice & neat.
 

starrfish

Commander
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Posts
259
Likes
109
Location
nantucket ma
Boat Make
35 duffy
theres no sending unit for any model, there are 2 flow sensors, one goes in the feed line and one on the return. if you go to the website and punch in your info, you should come up with a model that fits your motor, from there (i believe) you can download the installation manual and get a feel for the whole procedure..its not hard, just takes a little time/ planning.
 
Top Bottom