fortier fuel tanks

bob t

Ensign
Boat Make
fortier 26
hi i'm a newbie here looking for some advice. we have a 1981 fortier 26 TOOTSIE (power plant, a 350 crusader 17/18 @ 7 gal hr) her fiberglass fuel tanks (twin 50s) have been compromised by ethanol and need replaced. a major job w/ sealed decks. what will happen if i put a 95 gal tank on deck at the stern w/ a bench seat over. how would this affect her attiude in the water, plowing, steering, ride etc. any advice will be welcome. if not a good idea i'll bite the bullet and start cutting.
thanx bob t harbor springs mich

Last edited:

captchuck

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
26' Seaway
No doubt you would ride differently when the tank is anywhere near full. I know in my boat 26 seaway when my transom wells are full the boat will ride better in a following sea but not into a head sea.

LIFortier26

Ensign
Don't do the tank in the stern. Fix the tanks, the job isin't as bad as you think. You can cut the deck out just above the tanks, cut the tops of the tanks off and grind the compromised material out of the inside of the tank. Depending on how thick it still is after grinding you might need to reglass the inside of the tank. Finally coat it with epoxy.

Or remove the fiberglass tanks and replace with aluminum.

There are many 31 Bertrams which had to have their fiberglass tanks either repaired or replaced. If you search around 31 Bertram tank repair I'm sure you'll come across an idea of what you're in for (albeit on a much smaller scale)

captainlarry84

Rear Admiral
Boat Make
KristenFormer Charter Captain
Don't do the tank in the stern. Fix the tanks, the job isin't as bad as you think. You can cut the deck out just above the tanks, cut the tops of the tanks off and grind the compromised material out of the inside of the tank. Depending on how thick it still is after grinding you might need to reglass the inside of the tank. Finally coat it with epoxy.

Or remove the fiberglass tanks and replace with aluminum.