Garmin 2010c issues

Discussion in 'Marine Electrical / Electronics' started by Lobster.mike, Jun 11, 2018 at 9:06 PM.

  1. Lobster.mike

    Lobster.mike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Posts:
    290
    Likes Received:
    76
    Anyone have any idea why my unit would loose the antenna feed intermittently? I replaced the antenna at the suggestion of the local marine electronics shop but the problem still occurs.... most often at the worst times.
     
  2. Wharf Rat

    Wharf Rat Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    251
    Occupation:
    Radar Tech
    Location:
    City Island, NY
    Home Page:
    Boat Make:
    OPB
    Did you splice the antenna into the existing cable or run it directly to the NMEA0183 leads? Those Garmins used RS232 for it's NMEA connections which means a common ground for both power to the antenna and it's RX leads, so a loose or corroded terminal would cause exactly that same issue.
     
    captjohn likes this.
  3. Lobster.mike

    Lobster.mike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Posts:
    290
    Likes Received:
    76
    I spliced the antenna wire into the cable. Exactly how it had previously been run. I'll have to check out the grounds.
    If I were to replace that unit, what would be a comparable GPS/plotter. It's only taken me about five years to figure out how to use it! I've got a ton of numbers stored on this one. Hate to loose them
     
  4. Wharf Rat

    Wharf Rat Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    251
    Occupation:
    Radar Tech
    Location:
    City Island, NY
    Home Page:
    Boat Make:
    OPB
    I would do what I could to salvage that machine, it was probably the best Garmin unit they ever made. This was when they truly were 'user friendly', although I'll give you a pass for taking 5 years to master it, as there are a lot of buttons.. :D

    But it was one of the last TRUE chartplotters ever made. I consider it to be even in the same league as the Northstar 95x plotters.. I have a feeling the problem is just at the original NMEA0183 connections, but if some reason I'm wrong, reach out and we'll talk some options.
     
  5. Lobster.mike

    Lobster.mike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Posts:
    290
    Likes Received:
    76
    I initially re crimped the antenna wires thinking that I must've missed one--they're about the size of a hair. There wasn't any difference. After using the machine for a few hours it just starts losing the antenna signal. Sometimes I can simply turn the unit off /on and it re gains the signal. Often it never comes back until the next day.
     
  6. Lobster.mike

    Lobster.mike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Posts:
    290
    Likes Received:
    76
    Headed offshore yesterday. Seems like the same routine for the Garmin. It's fine for about ten hours. Then it'll start completely losing the antenna signal. Could it be that it's heating up? Just throwing it out there...? It's really frustrating!
     

Share This Page