Gear and ratio question

Blackfindan

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
1977 24' Blackfin Combi (sold)
I am a Newbie with an interest in moving up to a downeast boat. Now my ignorant question...

What is the importance of the gear and ratio information that is typically provided in a boat listing? What is a gear and ratio and what combination is good?

Told you I was a Newbie.. Thanks

Toolate

Admiral
Lite User
First Name
Ben
Boat Make
1998 36' Sabre Express CAT 3116TA's, 2015 ROS Scotia 16 Etec 50

Blackfindan

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
Are you considering the Nauset 28 in New York?

I have seen it on Yachtworld. Looks nice.

I am still trying to figure out what models will meet my needs. I have always admired the Nauset lines, but I really am not familiar with many downeast models.

Keelboater

Admiral
Boat Make
35' Bruno & Stillman
"What is a gear and ratio and what combination is good?"

The gear generally refers to the transmission. The ratio refers to the gear ratio inside the transmission. This is usually a reduction ratio, meaning that the output RPM of the prop shaft will be less than that of the input RPM of the motor. There is no combination of gear and ratio per say, there is only a transmission that has a gear ratio. The best gear ratio for a given vessel is based on multiple factors such as vessel's intended use, hull speed, prop size, and motor HP. A gear ratio of 2:1 will reduce the input rpm by half; a 3000 rpm motor would turn the prop shaft at 1500 rpm. A ratio of 1.5:1 would reduce it less to only 2000 rpm. Just divide the motor rpm by the ratio to get prop shaft rpm. Toolate might have been putting the cart before the horse. I say that only because of the way you worded the question.

Toolate

Admiral
Lite User
First Name
Ben
Boat Make
1998 36' Sabre Express CAT 3116TA's, 2015 ROS Scotia 16 Etec 50

Blackfindan

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
"What is a gear and ratio and what combination is good?"