Guru's need advice on a Center console to doghouse conversion

Hooper

Captain
Guys, I would like to add some protection to my Novi skiff. Below is my skiff in the top photo.

I would like to add to the existing center console and end up with something similar to what is pictured in the second and third photos.

I have zero experience working with fiberglass and West System epoxies. But I have done some research online and have a basic understanding of the processes.

What do you think would be the easiest way to get what I want from what I have, short of hiring someone to do it for me?

Could I take 3/8" marine plywood, cut it to the demensions I want, 5200 the pieces together, West Sysytem them with epoxy and roll on gel coat? Cut in a few windows and be good to go?

Novi.jpg

Boat7.jpg

IMG00284-20110604-1050.jpg

El Mar

Admiral
Lite User
First Name
Bryan
Boat Make
43 Tiara Open DDEC, GradyWhite 226, 18 Donzi Classic, 15 Boston Whaler Sport ETec 60

Hooper

Captain
Yes, but....

Don't 5200 them together, use the epoxy with your choice of filler.

and

You can't roll gelcoat over epoxy (not compatible), you have to paint.

Other than that, go for it.

There is a build thread for that Seacraft on the bottom.

Ok, so cut the pieces to shape, epoxy them individually (?), then epoxy them together? Do I need to use fiberglass mat or can I simply roll West System onto plywood and paint?

F/V First Team

Admiral
Website
www.otisenterprisesmarine.com
Boat Make
Northern Bay 36 - Modified
Polyester resin would fit the bill and your budget better I believe.

Doesn't even have to be marine plywood, you're going to encapsulate it anyways. Luan is my preference, you know absolutely what you'll find on the inside. Some sheet rock screws and some 2x4 stock ripped down the middle and cut on 45's would be great for your inside corner pieces to hold everything together, easier to glass too.

jerseysportfisher

Rear Admiral
Boat Make
Bertram 33SF