First Name
Eric
Boat Make
Shelter Island 38
I went from this:
old-bay-albums-wasque-32-picture632-image.jpg

To This:
old-bay-albums-wasque-32-picture650-image.jpg

Same wheel, still has life in her per the propscan shop, but waaay out of whack initially. Now all fixed.

Anyway, they install procedure is to use valve stem compound to prep the shaft and wheel for "mating" the shaft to the wheel. I've never done that before, but sounds like a good idea. It got me thinking: "are there other tips I should know"?

Last edited by a moderator:

lobstercatcher

Rear Admiral
Never heard of that method. hows it done?

I just slide the wheel on without a key. Mark it then install the wheel with a key. A loose wheel or a wheel on tight but sitting on the key can cause vibration or worse.

captainlarry84

Rear Admiral
Boat Make
KristenFormer Charter Captain
Glad you save your wheel. But only time will tell. The proper way is as follows:

#1 coat the shaft with valve grinding compound.
#2 Install the wheel with out the key way.
#3 By hand spin the wheel over and over again unit the valve gringing compound dulls the shaft uniformly. This means that all of the shafting is touching the hub of the wheel.
#4 clean the shaft
#5 Put the wheel back on the shaft & tighten the nuts without the key way.
#6 Mark the shaft with a die marker on the forward end. This tells you where the wheel should be on the shaft with the key way.
#7 Fit the key way into the shaft. the key way should slide easily in both the wheel and shaft.
#8 Place the key way on the shaft as far back as possible.
#9 Slide the wheel on push the wheel up so it meets the die mark.
#10 with a drift pin push on the back of the key way to see if it moves as it should. If no the key way is to high so just file it down some. Also make sure that the key way is slightly rounded the edges that touch the shaft.
#11 Tighten up the wheel little nut 1st than the big nut 2nd. when tightening block the wheel as shown.