Hull Laminate Question

Towboat

Lieutenant
As a mechanic by trade having never really been exposed to the design, layup & assembly side of boatbuilding I have a couple questions - or more of a poll for the experienced builders on this site.

When I bought my boat last summer, I hauled it for an insurance survey but paid little attention to how she was built myself. I was more concerned with the systems, engine condition, layout, etc and figured it is a solid glass hull built by a local builder with a long standing reputation in the business so I didn't worry about it. Condition was good and I was satisfied.

Fast forward to the winter and she's in my shop for a couple months for new pilothouse windows, some much needed engine maintenance, wiring upgrades, etc. I pulled one of the seacocks and was surprised by what I would consider a relatively thin hull thickness layup. located between the starboard two full length longitudinal stringers, about midship and halfway between the keel and chine, the seacock has a pretty stout glass backing plate but the actual hull in this area was only about 3/8". I have not observed any other locations yet.

I understand the hull thickness varies and is thicker in high stress areas, but this seemed thinner than what I expected and certainly not the 1" solid glass I seem to hear about on many boats here. Is it common practice for a builder to vary how heavy the hull is built from boat to boat depending on its intended purpose? This boat was laid up in 1989 before the fire at MDI's original shop and finished in 1990 at Weldon's new shop once he got going again. It was built for the Norwalk boat show with gelcoated bilges and a finished cabin, but purchased by a couple halfway through the build.

So - while this particular hull was finished off for recreation, there are plenty of 30s and 32s out fishing, unless there is more difference than meets the eye