Is an engine box necessary ?

Raider Ronnie

Vice Admiral
Lite User
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Posts
3,165
Likes
2,068
Age
57
Location
Boston Ma.
Website
www.bostonharborcharters.com
Boat Make
33 Flowers.

snowstorm

Lieutenant Commander
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Posts
198
Likes
33
Location
maine
Boat Make
28 ellis
my 28'ellis dose not have an engine box. there is a step up of a few inchs. it dosent really have enought head room for me. its only about 6'2". almost the whole floor either opens or is removeable. so it dose make it pretty easy to get at the motor and everything else.
 

Frank Grimes

Rear Admiral
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Posts
1,803
Likes
851
Location
N41°41'46.91" W070°15'35.13"
First Name
John
Because it might be ugly. It's a subjective question--some people use a boat for a specific purpose and don't care what it looks like above the waterline. Other people turn that viewpoint upside down. Still others want a boat that can perform in rough seas, and still be pleasing to the eye....enter the prototypical Maine lobsterboat.

Sure you can build a Holland 32' without a box...but boy that would be one weird looking boat.
 

F/V First Team

Admiral
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
Posts
6,146
Likes
2,482
Location
Narnia
Website
www.otisenterprisesmarine.com
Boat Make
Northern Bay 36 - Modified
An engine box is not a requirement - up to a certain point

If you want 200 hp you can squeeze by without an engine box, going with a larger displacement engine with the same power output however brings that box back into play. All depends on the actual physical size of the engine in the long run, but with a little imagination and a saw anything is possible

There is one 28 out there with no engine box or step I believe...

I'll need to check the archives for the photos
 

Duke

Commander
Lite User
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Posts
485
Likes
325
Location
Rye, NH
Boat Make
Dyer 29

tunaorlater

Admiral
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Posts
4,883
Likes
3,269
Boat Make
40' Northern bay
My Bhm had a step with a b series cummins under the deck. There wasn't a lot of head room that's for sure. If I knew then what I know now I would have raised the roof to make it better. It was the breaking point on a bunch of potential buyers.
 

captainlarry84

Rear Admiral
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Posts
1,295
Likes
239
Location
Freeport NY
Boat Make
KristenFormer Charter Captain
motor box

28 foot N/E boats can be a tight fit. Most have engine boxes primarily because the motors are mounted a bit far forward to get more cockpit room for commercial use. In building new construction pushing the motor back is always a good idea. You pick speed by getting the bow up. Plus you pick up a lot of room in the keel area to clear the transmission, which can be mounted lower into the boat as the keel is wider. With the motor lower you also get more stability.
Also all current diesels for 28 foot boats are inline six cylinder, which are nice a narrow and will fit without a motor box.
 

jerseysportfisher

Rear Admiral
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Posts
1,181
Likes
149
Location
Communist part of NJ
Boat Make
Bertram 33SF
To be honest, i looked at a 31jc before my bertram purchase, it had twin 6b's, interesting layout, it had a raised wheelhouse. Actually i think I talked to larry about it on noreast, the common logic was with the keel lopped off and twins in it, it defeats the purpose
 

Field Tester

Commander
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Posts
299
Likes
155
Age
46
Location
Montauk, NY
Website
www.fieldtester.net
Im trying to find a way to eliminate the box on my jc. Its gonna be tight like tuna said his bhm was. Im wondering if I should raise the roof? But that is opening up a whole new can can of worms that might be beyond my ability!!
 

mfrench808

Lieutenant Commander
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Posts
196
Likes
106
Aj -28

The AJ 28 is a built down hull with no engine box. It's a nice 28 foot boat that Alan Johnson perfected over the years. I owned one for about 4 years and the boat served me well. I definetly like a bigger boat though.
 

captainlarry84

Rear Admiral
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Posts
1,295
Likes
239
Location
Freeport NY
Boat Make
KristenFormer Charter Captain
Once again the key is the gear you need to lose the 507 and use a ZF gear. The motor will sit much lower. The problem will then be the shaft angle. You may have to redo the wet tube at the lower angle. Redoing the shaft tube is not that hard with the motor out. They simply slip a deep set hold saw over the old tube and cut it out. Next the new tube is place in lose, the motor dropped in. The tube gets shimmed for angle and reglassed. Sounds like a lot but no that bad. When I purchased my JC that is why I went with the 320 CAT as it only called for the 506. If I went with the 375 the 507 gear would have raise my step up another 3” which would have dropped my head room in about 5’10”.
The Yanmar 370 fit very easy with the 220 A ZF gear. I redid my tube not for angle but for increased shaft size to 1.75 from the 1.5.

CCI12182009_00001.jpg

March photo 06 038cl.jpg
 
Top Bottom