Lighting question

Bulman711

Lieutenant Commander
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Posts
246
Likes
51
Location
Scituate, Mass
Boat Make
31 JC
I am very inexperienced with electrical systems and have a quick question.

I am would like to put a floodzilla on my boat. I have a regular 12v system on the boat and am wondering if that would support the floodzilla? Could that be too much of a draw on the boat? The light is going to be used as a spot light forward while running so it will only be in operation while the engine is running. Would I need an certain alternator to keep up with the draw on the battery?

Thanks, jack.
 

MDI45

Vice Admiral
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Posts
3,648
Likes
1,096
Location
Freeport , new york
Boat Make
45MDI /28WB
I am very inexperienced with electrical systems and have a quick question.

I am would like to put a floodzilla on my boat. I have a regular 12v system on the boat and am wondering if that would support the floodzilla? Could that be too much of a draw on the boat? The light is going to be used as a spot light forward while running so it will only be in operation while the engine is running. Would I need an certain alternator to keep up with the draw on the battery?

Thanks, jack.
Jack,RAB FloodZilla lights are 110 AC...You will need a AC panel and a selector switch so you can switch from gen to shore power......no bearing on 12 volt system
 

Bulman711

Lieutenant Commander
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Posts
246
Likes
51
Location
Scituate, Mass
Boat Make
31 JC
I don't have a generator in the boat. I was thinking of putting an inverter in anyway, would they work with that?
 

starrfish

Commander
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Posts
252
Likes
101
Location
nantucket ma
Boat Make
35 duffy
the little honda gennys are a great asset, i bring one with me on canyon runs etc. but screwing around with the gas can be a pia..i have a rab 400w MH on the roof and run it off a 1800 w inverter no problems..and since you mentioned using the light while steaming, your main is running anyways.. just something to think about
 

Old Mud

Admiral
Lite User
Joined
Sep 9, 2012
Posts
6,864
Likes
6,694
Age
81
Location
mid coast Maine
First Name
Don
Boat Make
Ho Made

Badlatitude

Rear Admiral
Joined
Apr 5, 2012
Posts
1,943
Likes
596
Location
CT
You need to know your alternators output and the amp hours capacity of your house batteries before you pull the trigger on an inverter and big 110v lights. Big batteries arent so cheap.

Or buy a honda for 2 grand

or a small marine generator for 5 grand
 

MASTERENEGADE

Rear Admiral
Joined
Sep 15, 2012
Posts
2,032
Likes
627
Location
NORTHPORT
Boat Make
Had a DE, now 24' Privateer
Personally instead of installing an inverter, i chose to buy a honda 2000 generator. its a lil machine. I use it while im chunking to run all my lights, keep batteries charged, and in case of an emergency i can always re power up the main. Not to mention its a great Hurricane safety feature.

Plus having a girlfriend who loves the boat more then i, when we do an extended trip or cruise now she can run any womanly devices such as a hair dryer, microwave or tv to keep her happy and mouth shut. Makes my trips alot more enjoyable
 

morgan1727

Commander
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Posts
320
Likes
60
Does anyone have first hand experience with the distance you can see a marker in front of your boat with the RAB Floodzilla 400 Metal Halite?
 

Bulman711

Lieutenant Commander
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Posts
246
Likes
51
Location
Scituate, Mass
Boat Make
31 JC
You need to know your alternators output and the amp hours capacity of your house batteries before you pull the trigger on an inverter and big 110v lights. Big batteries arent so cheap.

Or buy a honda for 2 grand

or a small marine generator for 5 grand

The batteries shouldn't be an issue if I'm only running things off the inverter while the main is running, correct.
 

Bulman711

Lieutenant Commander
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Posts
246
Likes
51
Location
Scituate, Mass
Boat Make
31 JC
I bought both the light and inverter recommended. (Xantrex Prowatt SW 600)

My question now is how do I hook up the light? Should I wire it to a plug and just plug it in? Is there a way to hard wire it to the inverter an put an inline switch?
 
Top Bottom