LLC or S-Corp

CEShawn

Vice Admiral
Boat Make
Downeastless
So I dont know why, but I always thought I was going to go down the LLC road. Now setting it up today and they are trying to talk me into an S-Corp, just started reading up on this... anyone have any inputs?

Captlvb

Lieutenant Commander
Website
www.missbarnegatlight.com
Boat Make
235 Kencraft
I ran a charter business as a LLC to protect myself and my assets, as limited as they are. I would go talk to an accountant first about your tax requirements and any other advantages/disadvantages to either and any others they might see as an option. I assume this is for commercial purposes and not charters reading your posts? I am not a lawyer or accountant but I hated giving them substantial money even when I showed limited to no profit.

djmarchand

Captain
Boat Make
Atlas Pompano 23 outboard
Both have the same liability protections. S Corps give you shares that can be divided among several people and be more conveniently sold, pledged as collateral, etc.

But consult an attorney. Don't base the decision on locker room chatter.

David

WC1966

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
Webbers Cove 34
My Tax people recommended Incorporation when I was doing subcontracting work about 12 years ago. My main goal was to protect my house and saving. I went with their recommendation to Inc. The cost was not outrageous, I used a lawyer they recommended. Ask a lot of questions,

CEShawn

Vice Admiral
Boat Make
Downeastless
I've always been involved with and did an LLC because that is what everyone seemed to do. Then about a year ago my close friend did the S-corp thing, trying to reach him now. Then now my accountant and a couple other people recommend the S-corp. I guess one thing is if you do make money on it, the S-corp doesnt get double taxed like a LLC can be... see that all over the place but not sure I understand it... I believe for liability there is not much difference but is stronger, not sure if ithat is true..