Lobster/gillnet boat: 38 Calvin Beal vs 40 H&H

Discussion in 'Downeast Boat Builders (25 Ft+)' started by Phil nick, Apr 23, 2019.

1. Phil nick

Phil nick Member

Hi I’m new to this and just looking for some help. I am a commercial fishermen fishing traps and gill nets. My dad has a 38ft Holland and I have a 40 ft 1986 young brothers that I love but I’m ready to upgrade.
    I’ve been doing some research and trying to find My new boat. Narrowed it down between a 38ft Calvin Beal or a 40ft H&H. Just seeing what some people prefer to help me make up my mind because they are both nice boats. Also I was considering buying another 40ft young brothers like I have now but new since I know how it rides or is the CB or H&H a huge step up. Your feed back is much appreciated

2. Lobster.mike

Lobster.mike Senior Member

Have you looked at the 40' Wayne Beal?

3. Phil nick

Phil nick Member

No I haven’t, I’m from the west coast, only really heard of the Calvin Beal and the H&H. I tried looking up Wayne Beal
    But couldn’t find a website

4. Phil nick

Phil nick Member

Actually sorry I found the website, how is the Wayne comparable to the Calvin and the H&H

5. ThePartsGuy

ThePartsGuy Senior Member

PARTS PROFESSIONAL
    Home Page:
    I use to fish with a guy in York, ME named Jeff W. Pretty sure it was a RP40. He gillnetted off the port and hauled lobster gear starboard. Boat was a beast. Finished it in his yard. Was that with Steve Law? I can't remember.

6. steveinak

steveinak Captain

Boat Make:
    H&H / Pen Bay
    where do you fish out of ? pics of boats ?

7. Phil nick

Phil nick Member

upload_2019-4-29_9-37-17.jpeg