Material between strut and shaft?

1rider

Lieutenant Commander
I am new to inboard power and have been learning on the fly so to speak... I was under the boat this weekend getting her ready for launch and noticed there is what looks like some sort of poly/plastic liner between the strut and shaft. I also noticed there is a very small amount of play in the shaft, if I push up it moves slightly within this plastic liner material inside the strut.

What is the material? what is the required maintenance/replacement practices? Is a slight amount of play ok?

El Mar

Admiral
Lite User
First Name
Bryan
Boat Make
43 Tiara Open DDEC, GradyWhite 226, 18 Donzi Classic, 15 Boston Whaler Sport ETec 60

1rider

Lieutenant Commander
Thanks guys. I will need to pull the shaft it would appear, is it as simple as loosening it from the coupler and sliding it out?

Any other maintenance I should perform while doing this?

Lastly, should I do this myself? I would say I have very good mechanical skills but if I should get a professional I will.

Thanks for the help.

1rider

Lieutenant Commander
IMO, 1st time strut change with shaft removal?????
maybe get someone with ya who has done a few and has the tools :D

The only two guys I know I trust will not be able to help, they are beyond busy right now! I will have to figure something out...

They have tools that will pull cutlass bearing with shaft in place if its a strut.

That would certainly simplify things.

tunafishhkg

Captain
Boat Make
35 Duffy
You have a chance it can come out and you can make a tool out of a piece of pipe cut slit in half or so and a thick piece of steel wielded so you can strike it with a hammer. Never know might work just make sure you get set screws out and do not go crazy and peen the cutlass to make it harder for a mechanic to remove with hyd unit. If on trailer check boat yards to see if they have the HYD remover and can get off and replace if you do want to try it yourself.

Pitou

Commander
First Name