Need Help with some glass work, fairing/sanding ??s 31 BHM

Surfishingboy

Commander
Im new to fiberglass work and don't really have much experience but its time to learn. I have a few questions about what i should do with to my cabin walls on my 31 BHM.The fiberglass inside the cabin were never sanded and faired. But it has been painted. Is there anything i could do to get a decent clean look with out sanding the glass fibers all the way down? can you use a filler or fairing compound over the glass the way it is? Any Advice would help.

Surfishingboy

Commander
Also what is the best way to fix these tiny chips and little holes on here. the plan is to repaint the tops with interlux perfection and replace the old swivel rod holders with regular lee holders.

F/V First Team

Admiral
Website
www.otisenterprisesmarine.com
Boat Make
Northern Bay 36 - Modified
Hog out the chipped area and fill with something that won't absorb water. I suggest Rage, it's super effective.

As far as your forward cabin area, there's enough wax and other contaminants that trying to fair or paint over that will leave you with a spotty finish. Best just to sand it all and go from there. Doesn't have to be a massive sanding, just flash grind back to bare material.

A good finish is dependent on your prep.

steveinak

Admiral
Boat Make
31 BHM
inside the house i think i'd sand it down as nice as possible and paint it with some of that home depot paint powderpro was talking about in another thread. Pick a satin or flat finish so it doesn't show the imperfections so bad. After sanding give it a good cleaning with castrol super clean then acetone, that should get rid of a lot of the wax i would think. Like travis sez its all in the prep work.

Last edited:

Toolate

Admiral
Lite User
First Name
Ben
Boat Make
1998 36' Sabre Express CAT 3116TA's, 2015 ROS Scotia 16 Etec 50

F/V First Team

Admiral
Website
Boat Make