Northern Bay

Blexter

Commander
Boat Make
Northern Bay
As a Newbie here, I am extremely pleased to find this site with all you DE boat guys. I think I have the only one in Texas and no one here can answer my questions and laugh or cry at the answers.
I am hoping to splash the boat by Easter for the first time. It's not completely finished but it will run and I have lost all patience in waiting any longer.
This last week completed the cockpit material. I had teak but decided against it for maint. reasons. This stuff is called 'SafeFloor' it is a mixture of ground up tires (my choice of color) and epoxy. Easy to clean, it really cuts sound as well

IMG_0003.jpg

IMG_0001.jpg

Blitzen

Admiral
Boat Make
Flowers Boat Works 46 hull #1, Flowers Boat Works 36 hull #1, Wayne Beal 28 Hull #1, Repco 30 1968,
Tex, that looks good, how did it go down? spray, roller?

Blexter

Commander
Boat Make
Northern Bay
Hey Blitz - good to hear from you again.
It gets mixed in a bucket to the consistancy of thin peanut butter and troweled on - you choose thickness. When it hardens use a belt sander to flatten and smooth the rubber. It's really simple, like gluing down tile or laminate. Over 200 sqft in one day. I also had the galley and v-berth done. It has a 'lifetime' guarantee (if that means anything) It's used here on big aluminum flatbottom boats working in the oilfield so you don't slip down. I like the way it looks, comes in any color and soft on your feet
I will post close up pics tomorrow

petrel

Rear Admiral
Boat Make
56' DMR, 31' BHM
Deck looks neat, but not a DIY deal, is it? Sounds like the people who sell it do the installation according to their website. It looks like an especially good product for metal boats.

Blexter

Commander
Boat Make
Northern Bay