Old wiring

Joemas

Lieutenant
Joined
Dec 20, 2014
Posts
97
Likes
47
I am on a mission to clean up all the old wiring left in my dash compartment by previous owners and some unnecessary wires as well .
my question is this , Do the new blue seas DC panels have the extra wires that my panel does for the indicator lights .
seems the on line pics do not show any pics of the back of the panels . Just eliminating all those tiny wires on my 20 breakers would be a massive improvement.
 

Joemas

Lieutenant
Joined
Dec 20, 2014
Posts
97
Likes
47
I am on a mission to clean up all the old wiring left in my dash compartment by previous owners and some unnecessary wires as well .
my question is this , Do the new blue seas DC panels have the extra wires that my panel does for the indicator lights .
seems the on line pics do not show any pics of the back of the panels . Just eliminating all those tiny wires on my 20 breakers would be a massive improvement.
My goal in photo
 

Attachments

  • DDFC476E-B644-4630-A393-79FE3CCF8750.png
    DDFC476E-B644-4630-A393-79FE3CCF8750.png
    3.3 MB · Views: 26

Kenneth

Lieutenant Commander
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Posts
220
Likes
84
Location
Lebanon TN
Boat Make
Dyer 29 - SeaArk 1860
Panels will only have the additional wiring if the switches are backlit. These folks will sell you parts or wire you a complete panel using Contura switches.

I used their blank panel and assembled my own.

1606516700799.png 1606516711200.png
 

Joemas

Lieutenant
Joined
Dec 20, 2014
Posts
97
Likes
47
I was referring to the indicator lights on the DC panel. Each breaker has additional ire’s to the indicator light to the right of the toggle ., as seen below
 

Attachments

  • E69A253B-BF0B-41C7-AD01-3C7DE97DC157.png
    E69A253B-BF0B-41C7-AD01-3C7DE97DC157.png
    910.6 KB · Views: 18

Kenneth

Lieutenant Commander
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Posts
220
Likes
84
Location
Lebanon TN
Boat Make
Dyer 29 - SeaArk 1860
So its a power on indicator? If the panel description says it has power on indicators then it should be wired for that. The switches in my panel have the power on built into the switch so the only additional wiring is for the backlite which is wired to the nav lights.
 

Keelboater

Admiral
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Posts
6,018
Likes
4,212
Location
Clinton Harbor
Boat Make
35' Bruno & Stillman
Yes it comes pre-wired for the indicator lights - but only for the slots where there is a breaker supplied. You will have to add an indicator light at each "future" breaker slot if you do not initially order a full panel.
 
Top Bottom