Painting aluminum

cb34

Rear Admiral
Anyone have any good experience painting aluminum? Looking to paint my gin pole and being told that paint holds up better than powder coat. thanks...

Keelboater

Admiral
Boat Make
35' Bruno & Stillman
IMO, paint in some forms is 100% better than powder coat. Once the powder coat begins to peel, and it eventually will, it's game over. You can't repair it. Contrary to popular belief, the ONLY reason powder coating is so popular is because it meets the strict standards for air quality when being applied - no solvents or chemicals go into the atmosphere - so fed and state regulators love it. Personally, I hate it. I once worked for a company that manufactured powder coating equipment. Think they didn't do product testing? It's all wonderful when it's new. Give it a year or two or three. I am not a paint expert so all I can tell you is to use a U.V. resisting paint and a self etching zinc chromate primer. I have had much better luck with a rattle can paint job than powder coat. Hard to believe, I know. Just be sure that whatever paint you choose, it can be repaired from damage if need be. That gin pole can see some abuse if you really use it. I'm sure there will be some good paint suggestions popping up here. Good luck!

Raider Ronnie

Vice Admiral
Lite User
Website
www.bostonharborcharters.com
Boat Make
33 Flowers.

captjohn

Captain
Boat Make
Henriques
The secret to powder coating is the same for every kind of paint, prep work. I had the buggy top on my tower powder coated about 8 years ago, and it looks like it did the day they refinished it. They sand blasted the hell out of it first, so the powder coating had a nice clean surface to adhere to. A friend of mine had some powder coating done and like a year later it was peeling, poor prep work. I love powder coating, but it has to be done correctly.

chortle

Captain
Boat Make
Herreshoff Coquina, 1972 Jarvis Newman 36, PT11