Rail placement

captchuck

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
26' Seaway
I know this is not a new topic but I took some pics to share. I am interested in replacing my rails with slightly wider and longer rails. I believe they are placed to high and should be lower ( on the chine) but I'm no expert. The reason why I would be replacing them would be to hopefully improve my ride in a quartering sea, a little drier ride and maybe even improve overall performance

image.jpg

captchuck

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
26' Seaway
Couldn't figure out how to put multiple photos in one post.

image.jpg

Last edited:

captainlarry84

Rear Admiral
Boat Make
KristenFormer Charter Captain
Based on your water line they do not look to high. However you are correct they should have followed the chined line. Lower those rail is a very big job. You have a colored hull so every hole needs to be filled and matched. Is your hull cored? That also makes the job much harder.
Lower the rails may hold a little spray down. Lower them will not give you any noticeable bow lift, so performance will not improve.
The spray rails really do there big job on those heavy following sea days, when the bow gets push down and the rail helps to keep the water walls down & the bow up.

I cannot I.D. you hull. It would be nice to see other pictures of other boats like yours and get some comments before you start what could be a thankless, hard cosmetic job, with very little return.
Nice looking skiff….hard chined?

captchuck

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
26' Seaway
Based on your water line they do not look to high. However you are correct they should have followed the chined line. Lower those rail is a very big job. You have a colored hull so every hole needs to be filled and matched. Is your hull cored? That also makes the job much harder.
Lower the rails may hold a little spray down. Lower them will not give you any noticeable bow lift, so performance will not improve.