Remote mounting a heat exchanger?

Toolate

Admiral
Joined
Aug 6, 2013
Posts
6,620
Likes
2,542
Location
Southwestern CT
First Name
Ben
Boat Make
1998 36' Sabre Express CAT 3116TA's, 2015 ROS Scotia 16 Etec 50
My overheating and the inconvenient access to the end caps on my heat exchanger has me thinking about putting it else where (when I repower, not now).

Seems like the only thing to worry about is the height if the cap is on a separate expansion tank (cant be higher).

Also, looked up remote mount heat exchanger and found this - http://www.monitorpro.com/uploaded_images/MRM5345spec_rev00.pdf

Nothing special but it at least proves that I am not the only one over thinking of this. Remote oil filters... why not heat exchangers? I am def overthinking it but still interested in exploring the idea.

I have never owned an inboard that didnt have some kind of heat exchanger clog at some point. It happens.
 

Toolate

Admiral
Joined
Aug 6, 2013
Posts
6,620
Likes
2,542
Location
Southwestern CT
First Name
Ben
Boat Make
1998 36' Sabre Express CAT 3116TA's, 2015 ROS Scotia 16 Etec 50
I am nuts right? Lots of looks but no ideas. Just thinking about it because of repowering and if I go to squeeze a big power plant in my boat it really might make a big difference. Anyone think of a reason not to?
 

traditions

Rear Admiral
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Posts
1,672
Likes
1,009
Location
mid coast maine, muscle ridge channel
Boat Make
38 Holland
On some engines it is possible to remove the heat exchanger and then service it on the bench.I see no problem with moving it off the engine,much like an oil cooler doesn't need to be bolted to the engine.On the Deere I had it was part of the expansion tank so there would be no way to move it,but on my C Cummins it is bolted to the side and could be removed easily to service.
 

Kodiakan

Commander
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Posts
494
Likes
119
Don't know if you can remote all engines, but when San Juan Manufacturing sent the wrong model for my 351W they said I could mount it off the engine.
 

F/V First Team

Admiral
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
Posts
6,146
Likes
2,489
Location
Narnia
Website
www.otisenterprisesmarine.com
Boat Make
Northern Bay 36 - Modified
With the right hookup and supports, you can remotely locate just about any damn thing. Some engines back in the old days actually had remotely located heat exchangers, like the 3406 Caterpillar. It weighed 100ish lbs and held 24 gallons of engine coolant. Just the way it was done back then as they were marinizing those blocks. Bolt that sucker to a bulkhead and run some hoses.

Fun stuff. Mount yourself a heat exchanger where you can get to it :)
 

Toolate

Admiral
Joined
Aug 6, 2013
Posts
6,620
Likes
2,542
Location
Southwestern CT
First Name
Ben
Boat Make
1998 36' Sabre Express CAT 3116TA's, 2015 ROS Scotia 16 Etec 50
OK thanks- its the kind of thing that you might not do to a boat you own but if you start from scratch with a re-power, it might be worth it.

24 gallons of antifreeze? Holy crap. Must have hung on 3/8" steel plate (600+ lbs)?
 

F/V First Team

Admiral
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
Posts
6,146
Likes
2,489
Location
Narnia
Website
www.otisenterprisesmarine.com
Boat Make
Northern Bay 36 - Modified
This was back in the day when the 3406 only made 540 hp. They were still fine tuning things and slinging iron as quickly as they could. Eventually the 3406(E) had the heat exchanger mounted on the block and they cranked 800 hp out of that engine (1,000 if you had a black box :rolleyes:insert innocent look here:rolleyes:)
 

Toolate

Admiral
Joined
Aug 6, 2013
Posts
6,620
Likes
2,542
Location
Southwestern CT
First Name
Ben
Boat Make
1998 36' Sabre Express CAT 3116TA's, 2015 ROS Scotia 16 Etec 50
1000 hp sounds good. Im sure it would do a great job on my 20" prop and 1 1/2" shaft for at least 2 seconds....
 
Top Bottom