Spot/Search Lights

gregs

Lieutenant
Boat Make
Flowers 38
I am new to power boats and looking for advise on spot / search lights for a DE Cruiser w/ a remote control at the helm. I have no experience with search lights except understanding that the glare from the deck is very bad, any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Probably use it mostly for picking out a mooring or docking at night.
thx

captainlarry84

Rear Admiral
Boat Make
KristenFormer Charter Captain
Go with ACR Unit. Not cheap but great quality. Plus excellent customer service.

hardtop.jpg

Picture 016.jpg

captjohn

Captain
Boat Make
Henriques
My experience with search lights, the most important thing is where you mount them. If you mount them too low, they will throw a lot of light on the forward deck of the boat, which will create a lot of glare. I have a search light on my boat, on the hard top, which was just too low, too much glare. If I had to do it all over again, I would have mounted it in the tower. If you don't have a tower, but have some kind of mast, I would stick it in the mast. If you can't get it up high, mount it as far forward as possible, same reason, to avoid glare on the forward deck. But to be perfectly honest with you, if you intend to use the light for navigation, a good RADAR, and knowing how to use it, is a lot more useful in the dark than a search light. If your looking to find pots, to pull them, their probably handy. Just my 2 cents.

chortle

Captain
Boat Make
Herreshoff Coquina, 1972 Jarvis Newman 36, PT11
I am new to power boats and looking for advise on spot / search lights for a DE Cruiser w/ a remote control at the helm. I have no experience with search lights except understanding that the glare from the deck is very bad, any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Probably use it mostly for picking out a mooring or docking at night.
thx