Steering/Docking

dthompson004

Lieutenant
Boat Make
Luhrs 250 Tournament
Recently bought a 1984 Sisu 30, love the boat, rides great. Question about dock handling, the boat barely moves to port or starboard in reverse, forward it pivots on a dime, been told that is normal to must be a wheel/rudder issue. Took a little while to get used to it, all maneuvering for tieing up to other vessels or dock is done in forward with reverse basically used to stop momentum. 360 Crusader with a 20x19 four blade left hand. Normal handling for a Sisu? Stock rudder and similar to every other 30 Sisu I have looked at, thanks for any feedback.

Mobeach

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
28' Seaworthy BHM
I'm new to single screw boats having owned outboards all my life. It took some time to become familiar with these boats especially in docking situations. Rudder really doesn't do a whole lot for you. I simply align the boat by puttin it in and out if gear. Once aligned, I give it a little kick than for a couple seconds to get her moving and than back to neutral. Nothing wrong with your rudder, it isn't there for reverse direction.

Duke

Commander
Lite User
Boat Make
Dyer 29

dthompson004

Lieutenant
Boat Make
Luhrs 250 Tournament
Thanks guys, at least I know its me and not the boat. I would imagine I'll be posting quite a few questions as I learn more about this boat. Thanks.

Dr Dude

Captain
Lite User
Boat Make
Fortier 33 , McKeeCraft 28

CEShawn

Vice Admiral
Boat Make
Downeastless
Learning what Dr. Dude said above is key, you can get that ass to move without moving forward just kinda kicks the stern to the side. It really is more like the boat is being kicked UP rather than forward, much like the stern being dragged down going astern. Haven't driven my boat in 4 months, came back today and with power hydraulics fit everything like a charm...

Frigate

Captain
Boat Make
38' Duffy/Flower