Using a drogue/sock/sea anchor

MAArcher

Rear Admiral
Does anyone fish with a drift sock, and if you do, what do you use for line (size, length, sink or float) and buoy? I have a 22' boat and just bought a Jim Buoy 928 30". I've never used a sock before and I'm wondering if there's a method to the madness when rigging it with lines. I was just going to use some sinking pot warp for main line and then get some floating line for the trip line? Not sure if they come with a swivel so I'll probably have to grab one. I'll be using mostly tied to a cleat to slow the drift while fishing but I will also use it to tow off the stern if I ever got stuck in high following seas. I have a water ski/tubing bridal I can use for that.

Codcruncher

Captain
Does anyone fish with a drift sock, and if you do, what do you use for line (size, length, sink or float) and buoy? I have a 22' boat and just bought a Jim Buoy 928 30". I've never used a sock before and I'm wondering if there's a method to the madness when rigging it with lines. I was just going to use some sinking pot warp for main line and then get some floating line for the trip line? Not sure if they come with a swivel so I'll probably have to grab one. I'll be using mostly tied to a cleat to slow the drift while fishing but I will also use it to tow off the stern if I ever got stuck in high following seas. I have a water ski/tubing bridal I can use for that.
Yup..220' of rode, I like 3/8 " braid....25' of chain...floating on your trip line about 25' , and your swivel....should be good

Codcruncher

Captain
Where does the chain go?
I run 2 swivels as well...one at the rode to chain and one at the chain to anchor...the sea anchor will want to twist some....plus, don't forget a polyball on the trip line...I'm sure you knew that anyway...just figured I would say

novivin

Captain