Wheel diameter and pitch Not getting top RPM

Fvdestiny

Commander
Website
www.destinyfishingscharters.com
Boat Make
38 northern bay green stick boat/30 Calvin beal tuna boat/20 Seacraft Master Angler
without getting too crazy ,I have a 38 Northern Bay with a NEF 450 Iveco which is a 3000 rpm engine . I am getting around 2700 rpms . I know I am putting more load than normal by not operating at the most efficient Rpm. I cruise now at between 17-18 knots at 2350 burning 15-16 gph. how best can I achieve the peak performance and efficiency ,but also reducing the load and not loose my cruise speed.
Warning Go easy on the technical stuff . i have a 4 blade nibral 28 *28 ..Will less diameter maybe solve some of the issue?
thanks in advance for help..

steveinak

Admiral
Boat Make
31 BHM
I'm not a expert wheel guy but it think i'd start by taking out a couple of inches of pitch out of the wheel that i think will get ya close on the WOT rpms's.

tunafishhkg

Captain
Boat Make
35 Duffy
Agree with steve and Cpt Larry should come in with his knowlegeable opinion on how much. You need to get over max rated RPM FULLY LOADED by at least 100RPM unless electronic control (Peter from FPT should chime in)does not allow over 100RPM max. Your speed at cruise and top end will be what it is, perhaps slower then now, but your engine will love you and last!!

F/V First Team

Admiral
Website
www.otisenterprisesmarine.com
Boat Make
Northern Bay 36 - Modified