Yanmar 6LYA-STP

Mobeach

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
28' Seaworthy BHM
After running this new to me engine for about a year, I noticed some light black smoke from the exhaust. I'm a newbie to Diesel engines having run outboards my entire boating career. I met the mechanic at the boat to spend some time getting oriented with the engine, and to identify any issues. In examining the turbo, he noticed some play inside the housing along with a film of oil residue. He indicated that the turbo would need to be replaced at end of season. Engine has about 1250 hours on it. Boat is a 28' BHM. He also suggested that the injectors be pulled and sent out to be serviced as well. Iam having the prepare an estimate for this work (Cape Cod,Ma). Mechanic indicated cost of $3000 for turbo job (parts and labor) he wasn't sure about cost to have injectors sent out.

Wondering if anyone here could tell me what I should plan on spending on this job. Any insight is greatly appreciated as I look to learn as much as I can about my new power plant! I also plan to shop this out with another reputable Yanmar dealer off Cape.

I also joined Boatdiesel.com and posted this question there as well.

Thanks!

jojobee

Commander
Give me a call on Tuesday. I'll get you hooked up with the local sales rep. I'll pm you my number

Mobeach

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
28' Seaworthy BHM
Jojo.......

Thank for the quick response and help! I will definitely reach out to you. Would he be able to let me know what it will cost? Never dealt with a manufacturer rep before.

Thanks again!

djmarchand

Captain
Boat Make
Atlas Pompano 23 outboard
Carefully read my response to your question over on boatdiesel. IMO you are asking the wrong question. You should be asking why did this happen and what can I do to keep it from happening again.

David

Mobeach

Lieutenant Commander
Boat Make
28' Seaworthy BHM